Inay

“Inay” or simply “Nay” is the general name we use to address our mothers in the Philippines. Hence, if you’re hungry and in need of food, you would say, “Gutom po ako, Nay.” Moreover, if you’re hurt and in need of help, you would have to yell, “Inay!”

Mahal_Kita__Inay

Today, in response to the DAILY PROMPT which is about the Power of TOUCH, I would like to pay tribute to a person who I consider my second Inay. She was sweet, nice, and very caring — was very generous, too! She was the person we ran to whenever we needed help. She was a source of strength and inspiration. She was our HERO.

lucy2

Nay Lucy died of cervical cancer last year. My mother said she was fighting for her life. She didn’t want to die yet — she still had a lot of plans for the family.

I could still remember her warm embrace three years ago when she said good-bye to me at our local airport. She was sad but at the same time happy for me for getting a new job. She was strong. She never cried in front of me… her way of telling me that everything was going to be alright.

I so miss her powerful touch. I was unable to attend her burial (the saddest part) … and I don’t know how it’s going to be like not to see her when I go home this month.

I wrote a song for her in Filipino. I’ll try to translate in English so you would understand.

INAY

Puso ko’y lumuluha
Habang ika’y minamasdan
Aking binabalikbalikan
Di malilimutang nakaraan

Hahanaphanapin ko, Ina
‘Yong mga hele at kanta
Ngayong ikay lilisan na
Hayaan mong alayan ka

Chorus:
Tulog lang, tulog lang
Ng mahimbing, tulog lang
Damhin ang yakap ko Inay
Maging mapanatag ka na
Sa ‘yong pamamahinga

Nais kong pasalamatan ka
Sa bawat sandaling kapiling ka
Bawat ngiti at hapdi
Ikay laging na sa tabi (chorus)

Coda:
Di ko kayang tiisin
Makita kang nagdurusa
Masakit man sa damdamin
Kailangang tanggapin

Chorus 2:
Tulog lang, tulog lang
Ng mahimbing, tulog lang
Damhin ang yakap ko Inay
Minamahal kita, Inay

Mom

My heart cries
Whilst looking at you
Unforgettable memories
I keep reminiscing

I will keep longing for all of it, Mom
Your lullabies and songs
Now that you’re going
Allow me to sing this song for you

Chorus:
Just sleep, just sleep
Sleep soundly, just sleep
Feel my warm embrace
And be at peace
in your sleep

I want to thank you
For every moment with you
Every smile, every pain
You were there by my side (chorus)

Coda:
I can’t bear the pain
Looking at you like this
Painful as it is
I will have to accept…

Just sleep, just sleep
Sleep soundly, just sleep
Feel my warm embrace
I love you, Mom

*I had to record myself and send copy of the song urgently so that my friend could sing it during the burial. Here’s a very rough copy of it.

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Russel Ray Photos
    Dec 25, 2013 @ 05:55:29

    Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

    Reply

  2. lifethroughmyeyes
    Dec 13, 2013 @ 18:29:20

    You are just amazing!!
    and the song and your feelings are beautiful! 🙂 🙂

    Reply

  3. readinpleasure
    Dec 10, 2013 @ 01:51:34

    A beautiful tribute you’ve written for her. Just know that she is at rest now where no pain will ever touch her.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: As smooth as a baby’s butt | I am Lynn
  5. omel07
    Dec 08, 2013 @ 21:25:44

    I felt your emotions as I read the song, both in English and Tagalog. Very touching. I’m sure she would have loved it. But I believe that everything happens for a reason. God must have had His reasons. Just continue to be strong. Best wishes.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Hold me closer, Tony Danza | Manresa, Maine
  7. rommel
    Dec 07, 2013 @ 22:05:55

    Touching one. You even write a beautiful heartfelt song. Kudos on paying a tribute to your mom.

    Reply

  8. seeker
    Dec 07, 2013 @ 17:59:13

    What a wonderful tribute to your mom. We have something in common. Mothers RIP.

    Reply

  9. Island Traveler
    Dec 07, 2013 @ 16:23:19

    My thoughts and prayers to your Nay Lucy. A woman who loved so much, gave so much. Reading your post and song made me so relate to the significant “Inay” in my life as well. Beautiful, moving tribute my friend.

    Reply

  10. Trackback: The Power of Touch | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl
  11. sustainabilitea
    Dec 07, 2013 @ 03:31:11

    A lovely tribute to her. What a blessing that you were able to know her and love and be loved by her.

    janet

    Reply

  12. Trackback: The Power of Touch | A mom's blog
  13. khushnumab
    Dec 06, 2013 @ 13:26:46

    We share the same loss . I lost mine to blood cancer this year . I remember this -I can’t bear the pain
    Looking at you like this
    Painful as it is
    I will have to accept…
    So vividly . Anyways god has his mysterious way . Even she had a lot of plans.

    Reply

  14. Trackback: Good Wood | The Jittery Goat
  15. Trackback: Daily Prompt: Texture | Tommia's Tablet
  16. Trackback: Untouched | Cheri Speak
  17. Trackback: Daily Prompt: The Power of Touch | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  18. Gede Prama
    Dec 06, 2013 @ 05:11:14

    Amazing and Thank you for writing which is quite good and best wishes always, and greetings

    Reply

Please respond. I'd like to know what you think about this post.

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Steve Rose, PhD

Gain Long-term Freedom From Addiction

Uniquepapers's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Kids' Bulletin

A fun way for Catholic kids to learn about the Faith every week.

The Future of Learning

Where do we go from here?

charles french words reading and writing

An exploration of writing and reading

Save Our Schools NZ

free, fair, equitable public education for all

lynz real cooking

lynz real life

La Brújula

"Lo esencial es invisible para los ojos"

Words and Pictures

The Official Website of NHS English Department

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

VIVIMETALIUN

Pensamos demasiadamente e sentimos muito pouco. Necessitamos mais de humildade que de máquinas. Mais de bondade e ternura que de inteligência. Sem isso, a vida se tornará violenta e tudo se perderá. Charles Chaplin.

asnappshot

A great WordPress.com site

SueBee Arts

Repository and showcase for my arts, photos, adventures

Shangri-La

Never Grow Old

daysandmonths

a journey of discovery with my camera...

aysabaw.com

Life as an expat in Maldives, freediver and hotelier

Cheal Out

My name is Jack and I write stories.

Swatii Chandak

Light at the end of the Tunnel

Expedition Nomadic Adventures

Travel curiosity equals adventures!

IMPREINTofficial

The official page of the artist created to host the project 'CUT OFF'.

The Soft Pillow

He became ink in her pen and she never stopped writing.

forgottenmeadows

thoughts from my mind to yours

Karl's Blog

Love poems and inspirational posts.

insight07's blog

life is a lovely chaos

Mik Mob's Music Mass

share YOUR favourite tunes with The Mob

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.

Domenic Garisto / LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT..if you can't be the poet, be the poem..havau22.com

ianprobertbooks

Author and journalist

CountyBakerMom

adventurous , passionate , fun

All I Have to Say

The place where we talk about books, writing, and life!

A Little Out of Repair

I'm just full of bad ideas.

Just another corner

Photography is a Lie

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

crashcoursedummy

exploring the soul

Eclectic Alli

A bit of this, a bit of that, the meandering thoughts of a dreamer.

SUSANNE LEIST

Author of Paranormal Suspense

lorriebowden.wordpress.com/

Heal & Free Your Soul ~ In The Garden of Blessitude

Letters From The Clouds

Short Stories & Creative Writing © Copyright 2017 All Rights Reserved.