Turning 30!

I’m turning 30 in a couple of hours, and honestly I am panicking!!!

What is life beyond 29?

All I know is that I’m getting old, and that I’m suppose to embrace a life of adulthood, where everything is about maturity, and grace, stability, and so on and so forth. The expectation list could go on endlessly actually.

I tried ‘googling’ life @ 30 to check whether or not it is normal for me to feel this way. Turns out, I’m not alone. πŸ™‚

I decided to take some time to process my emotions, and I realized that I’m having mixed feelings about this whole 30th birthday of mine. Whilst I’m anxious about life after 20’s, I’m also actually happy and elated looking back at the memorable things that happened in my life. I mean, for me it’s still surreal to be at the very spot in life where I am at the moment. I did always give my best — one of the things I learned from the Jesuits — but I’d be lying if I’d say that it was all hard-work. I must say that I was greatly blessed, and I owe it all to Him who is watching from up above.

I’ve decided to dedicate this post to Him in thanksgiving for the many blessings He has gifted me.

Lord, you’ve made feel Your presence today
despite my sinfulness,
my arrogance,
selfishness,
my worldly desires.

I was unworthy,
yet You came.
I was empty,
and You filled me.
I was lonely,
and You gave me comfort.
I was lost,
and You gave me light.

I cried, Lord, when You said:

“I am your Father, and I love you even as I love my son, Jesus.” John 17:23
“He came to demonstrate that I am for you, not against you.” Romans 8:31
“And to tell you that I am not counting your sins.” 2 Corinthians 5:18-19
“Jesus died so that you and I could be reconciled.” 2 Corinthians 5:18-19
“His death was the ultimate expression of my love for you.” 1 John 4:10
“I gave up everything I loved that I might gain your love.” Romans 8:31-32

How great is Your love, Lord!
How wonderful!
“What am I that You should love me
and hold me as Your dearest love of all?”

Thank you, Lord.
Thank you.
Thank you for Your great love and mercy.
Know that I love You too…

34 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. brianwilliamsen
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 16:59:07

    Great post! Love to see the love of God shining through.

    Reply

  2. MΓ©lanie
    Jun 03, 2014 @ 18:33:15

    happy belated b’day! in France we say that “life starts at 40 or 50… it’s up to you to choose and to decide…” πŸ™‚
    * * *
    glad to have come across your awesome blog, via Carol B… my very best, tons of inspiration and friendly thoughts from Toulouse, France… cheers, MΓ©lanie

    Reply

    • mockingbird181984
      Jun 14, 2014 @ 10:46:37

      Thanks for visiting me here Ms Melanie. It’s a great honor and blessing. Sorry to have replied to you very late. I have been so busy with work and still am actually. I’m just taking the time to stop and update and be updated with the blogging world. I’ll visit your blog soon. I’m sure it would be a lovely one. Best regards from New Zealand! πŸ™‚

      Reply

  3. Holistic Wayfarer
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 13:18:33

    Ok, so if you’re old now I’m ancient. ^^ Hope it went painlessly enough.

    If you’re interested any, Lessons from my 30s:

    http://holisticwayfarer.com/2013/02/16/lessons-from-my-30s/

    =)

    Reply

  4. godtisx
    May 31, 2014 @ 20:32:38

    30? Oh my. Well here is your “Archaic” friend to say happy belated birthday! Try to breathe through this, you are in no way ‘getting old’ yet. πŸ™‚ Trust.

    Just look at your comment section, least half of us are way older. But I don’t wish to turn back time, and you should embrace the life the Lord is allowing and has allowed you. Wisdom comes with it. Many blessings luv, enjoy your birthday year!

    God keep… πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Imelda
    May 31, 2014 @ 14:23:11

    Belated happy birthday. Being someone way beyond thirty, I can tell you with some degree of certainty that 30’s is better than 20’s. It just gets a little more exciting as you go along. Praise be to God. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. shirleyford929
    May 29, 2014 @ 06:20:38

    A belated Happy Birthday! It’s not so bad on this side you know. I should know, I have been here for ages! Thanks for liking my photo of Bailey

    Reply

    • mockingbird181984
      May 29, 2014 @ 07:41:28

      Haha! You’re right, Ms Shirley. It shouldn’t be bad at all. I guess it’s all up to me now to enjoy this new chapter or not. Thanks for stopping by and for leaving a birthday message. Much appreciated! πŸ™‚

      Reply

  7. khushnumab
    May 19, 2014 @ 23:11:44

    Welcome to the other side πŸ˜›

    Reply

  8. D.G.Kaye
    May 19, 2014 @ 11:57:43

    Happy birthday Mock! Thirty is so young, lol. Embrace it, and never shun your birthdays, for without them we don’t exist. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  9. suzjones
    May 19, 2014 @ 10:36:24

    Turning 30 was a huge turning point in my life. I hope you discover just how wonderful the years ahead can be. (And I am nearing 50 so I know what I’m talking about) lol

    Reply

  10. readinpleasure
    May 19, 2014 @ 06:41:55

    Happy and blessed Birthday to you πŸ™‚

    Reply

  11. hope4theheartalways
    May 19, 2014 @ 02:51:17

    May The Lord bless your birthday and the year to come with new revelations of His love for you! As far as what “the 30’s” (and decades past that πŸ˜‰) hold – no worries! What comes to mind is Psalm 37:23-25. “Psalm 37:23-25 The Lord makes firm the steps of the one who delights in him; though he may stumble, he will not fall, for the Lord upholds him with his hand. I was young and now I am old, yet I have never seen the righteous forsaken or their children begging bread. “

    Reply

  12. Nomzi Kumalo
    May 18, 2014 @ 03:57:37

    Happy birthday. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  13. teny
    May 17, 2014 @ 15:50:06

    Happy birthday! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  14. addercatter
    May 17, 2014 @ 15:20:08

    Happy Birthday my dear friend! What a beautiful post this is, and what a wonderful person you truly are!
    p.s. I recently turned 35… so if you think you’re getting old, what does that make me? πŸ˜‰

    Have a fabulous birthday!!! Love, Kat

    Reply

  15. That Montreal Girl
    May 17, 2014 @ 15:19:54

    Happy Birthday

    Reply

Please respond. I'd like to know what you think about this post.

The Future of Learning

Where do we go from here?

Entertainment

Welcome to your new World on WordPress

charles french words reading and writing

An exploration of writing and reading

Save Our Schools NZ

free, fair, equitable public education for all

lynz real cooking

lynz real life

WRITE THEM ALL.

THOUGHTS. FEELINGS. MEMORIES.

La BrΓΊjula

"Lo esencial es invisible para los ojos"

Words and Pictures

The Official Website of NHS English Department

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

VIVIMETALIUN

🌡O que te separa da vida dos seus sonhos é só o salto. Pule. O universo coloca o chão debaixo dos seus pés.🌡

Shangri-La

Never Grow Old

asnappshot

A great WordPress.com site

SueBee and Kat

Everything Southern California and sometimes beyond

daysandmonths

a journey of discovery with my camera...

Aysabaw

Hotelier by Day, Blogger by Night and Rockstar in Between

Cheal Out

My name is Jack Edward Cheal Baxter. I write books no one reads and sing songs no one hears.

Swatii Chandak

Light at the end of the Tunnel

The Phenomenon Of Thoughts

You are where your thoughts are.........

Expedition Overlanding Nomadic Adventures

β€œMy passion for travel, writing, backpacking, and photography starts here.”

IMPREINTofficial

The official page of the artist created to host the project 'CUT OFF'.

Tassles Of Intertwined Emotions

Poetry, Quotes & Random Thoughts

forgottenmeadows

thoughts from my mind to yours

Karls Blog, Feelings from the Heart

This blog is where I post love poems and inspirational posts.

insight07's blog

life is a lovely chaos

Mik Mob's Music Mass

share YOUR favourite tunes with The Mob

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic Garisto/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

ONLYVIC

Taking pleasure seriously.

ianprobertbooks

Author and journalist

CountyBakerMom

adventurous , passionate , fun

Serenity's Ashrama

"Our inner hankering is for satisfaction, happiness, sweetness, love, beauty and mercy." Swami B.R.Sridhar maharaja.

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Tricia Drammeh

A Creative State of Mind

A Little Out of Repair

I'm just full of bad ideas.

Alysha Kaye

A writer trying to teach becomes a teacher trying to write

Just another corner

Meeting new faces in analog.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

crashcoursedummy

exploring the soul

Eclectic Alli

A bit of this, a bit of that, the meandering thoughts of a dreamer.

SUSANNE LEIST

AUTHOR of THE DEAD GAME--A PARANORMAL SUSPENSE

