Who You Are, Is Okay!

You-have-more-friends-than-you-know-performance
I took some time to pause from work this week, sat down with my buddy, and watched “Glee” season four (4) together. We’re on a school break for two weeks anyway, so I’m taking some time to enjoy.  Wait! Glee season 4? Just now…? Oh yes — the whole season in fact! If you are where I am right now, you will understand why.

Anyway, while I was watching the whole thing, I realized how I’m missing out on a lot of things already. I mean I’m not just talking about ‘Glee’ and the other equally beautiful TV programs — I’m talking about the whole world at large. I’m missing out on the new songs, the newest expressions, fashion. I’m talking about the newest trends and the interesting ways people express themselves.

Don’t get me wrong though. This is not about island life and the simplicity of life here. It’s about me lacking the effort to get in touch with the world. I miss the city life though where it is so effortless to see and notice all these new things.

Take for example this beautiful song entitled, “You Have More Friends Than You Know.” Written by Mervyn Warren and Jeff Marx and featured in Sweet Dreams, the nineteenth episode of Glee Season Four, the song talks about how friends can be there to show support and to make us feel better from everything that we are going through. This is immediately expressed in the first few lines of the song — “We feel, we hear, your pain, your fear.” To be honest, these lines struck me right away. It felt as though the song was written for me.  I looked it up online and I found out that although the song was sung in the context of ‘Glee’ and how rough things could get when preparing for competitions, the song was actually written for and commissioned by It Gets Better project for a touring stage production about the bullying of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender youth. No wonder I could relate so much to the lyrics of the song saying “But we’re here, to say, who you are, is okay.”

IMG_1926My friends, it does feel good to hear someone say that. It feels good to know that I am okay. That I’m not some kind of an abnormality in this world. That my being different is beauty and not a plague nor a disease needed to be treated. I am that flower standing amidst tall grasses. That moon surrounded by stars at night. I am sunrise and sunset, rising and setting through the clouds. Yes, I am different but beautiful in your eyes.

The song goes on by saying, “And you don’t have to go through this on your own. You’re not alone.” These are beautiful words of assurance that as I rise and set, you will be there to celebrate life with me with no traces of awkwardness, sadness, hate, nor pity. Sadly though, not all would support this. But that’s alright. We cannot please everyone. As the song suggests, “Don’t let go, give it time, take it slow. Those who love you the most may need more time to grow.”

I am not saying that I am perfect. That I don’t commit mistakes, and that everything that gays do is good in the eyes of God. All I’m saying here is that like anyone in this world, I’m also on a journey towards discovering who I really am. And besides, according to the song, “It’s not about how you love. It’s about how you live.”

To the other flowers like me:

Be brave,
Be strong
It’s gonna be okay
You have more friends than you know

*Listen to the song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1E9QIc-MDc

*Friends, thanks for the 100 likes.

likeable-blog-100-1x

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. waggcomedy
    Dec 12, 2013 @ 07:01:11

    This is such a lovely post! It’s full of encouragement and wisdom. 😀

    Reply

  2. khushnumab
    Dec 02, 2013 @ 12:06:47

    Music can and will always sooth our emotions . You talk of missing a city life but folks in city life yearn for a life in the island. I want to tell your to go be yourself but i am scared the world may not be able to handle it 🙂 Cheers .

    Reply

  3. mockingbird181984
    Dec 02, 2013 @ 07:18:21

    Reblogged this on The Mockingbird in Me and commented:

    I’ve been listening to this song again, so allow me to reblog it.

    Reply

  4. addercatter
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 06:52:40

    I’m so blessed and proud to have you as my friend and songwriting partner! The world can be a very cruel place, but I’ve found that if another human being doesn’t accept you or I for who we are, that’s really their problem and not ours. As the saying goes, what other people think of me is none of my business.

    Hugs, Kat =^..^=

    Reply

  5. ashadeofpen
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 06:48:37

    hoping you have a lot more likes and sending warmest smiles and hugs all the way from India 🙂

    Reply

Please respond. I'd like to know what you think about this post.

The Future of Learning

Where do we go from here?

Entertainment

Welcome to your new World on WordPress

charles french words reading and writing

An exploration of writing and reading

Save Our Schools NZ

free, fair, equitable public education for all

lynz real cooking

lynz real life

WRITE THEM ALL.

THOUGHTS. FEELINGS. MEMORIES.

La Brújula

"Lo esencial es invisible para los ojos"

Words and Pictures

The Official Website of NHS English Department

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

VIVIMETALIUN

🌵O que te separa da vida dos seus sonhos é só o salto. Pule. O universo coloca o chão debaixo dos seus pés.🌵

Shangri-La

Never Grow Old

asnappshot

A great WordPress.com site

SueBee and Kat

Everything Southern California and sometimes beyond

daysandmonths

a journey of discovery with my camera...

Aysabaw

Hotelier by Day, Blogger by Night and Rockstar in Between

Cheal Out

My name is Jack Edward Cheal Baxter. I write books no one reads and sing songs no one hears.

Swatii Chandak

Light at the end of the Tunnel

The Phenomenon Of Thoughts

You are where your thoughts are.........

Expedition Overlanding Nomadic Adventures

“My passion for travel, writing, backpacking, and photography starts here.”

IMPREINTofficial

The official page of the artist created to host the project 'CUT OFF'.

Tassles Of Intertwined Emotions

Poetry, Quotes & Random Thoughts

forgottenmeadows

thoughts from my mind to yours

Karls Blog, Feelings from the Heart

This blog is where I post love poems and inspirational posts.

insight07's blog

life is a lovely chaos

Mik Mob's Music Mass

share YOUR favourite tunes with The Mob

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic Garisto/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

ONLYVIC

Taking pleasure seriously.

ianprobertbooks

Author and journalist

CountyBakerMom

adventurous , passionate , fun

Serenity's Ashrama

"Our inner hankering is for satisfaction, happiness, sweetness, love, beauty and mercy." Swami B.R.Sridhar maharaja.

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Tricia Drammeh

A Creative State of Mind

A Little Out of Repair

I'm just full of bad ideas.

Alysha Kaye

A writer trying to teach becomes a teacher trying to write

Just another corner

Meeting new faces in analog.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

crashcoursedummy

exploring the soul

Eclectic Alli

A bit of this, a bit of that, the meandering thoughts of a dreamer.

SUSANNE LEIST

AUTHOR of THE DEAD GAME--A PARANORMAL SUSPENSE

